EPPO Secretariat



The EPPO Secretariat prepares and runs all meetings, and coordinates the activity which arises from them. It is responsible for all publication and information services (including databases). Since 2014 and 2015, EPPO is hosting Euphresco and the EU Minor Uses Coordination Facility (MUCF), respectively. The EPPO Secretariat is headed by a Director-General and an Assistant Director.


 Nico HORN - Director-General

 Valérie GRIMAULT - Assistant Director


EPPO Secretariat (EPPO headquarters, Paris, December 2022)



Composition of the EPPO Secretariat



Nico HORN is responsible to the Council for the overall direction of EPPO. He leads the implementation of the programme of work and the EPPO Secretariat staff.


Assistant Director

Valérie GRIMAULT assists the Director-General and lead the programme of work on phytosanitary issues (diagnostics, Pest Risk Analysis, phytosanitary measures). 



Scientific Officers (in alphabetical order)

Valerio LUCCHESI is responsible for the programme of work on plant protection products and participates in activities on global phytosanitary issues.

Javier MARTINEZ works on plant protection products and phytosanitary issues.

Madeleine McMULLEN is the managing editor of the EPPO Bulletin and edits all EPPO’s outputs in English. She also works on diagnostic activities.

Dmitrii MUSOLIN works on quarantine pests for forestry and pest risk analysis, and communications with Russian-speaking experts and representatives in the EPPO region.

Camille PICARD works on pest risk analysis (PRA) and phytosanitary measures.

Anne-Sophie ROY is responsible for EPPO information services (EPPO Reporting Service, Alert List, website, EPPO Codes and EPPO Global Database).

Muriel SUFFERT works on information services (EPPO Reporting Service and EPPO Global Database) and the EPPO Platform on PRA. She is responsible for EPPO’s social media.

Rob TANNER works on Invasive Alien Plants, biological control agents and phytosanitary inspections.

Charlotte TRONTIN works on diagnostics, including content development of diagnostic databases.



IT Officers

Nathalie BOUTRON works on the development of EPPO IT systems.

Damien GRIESSINGER is responsible for the maintenance and development of EPPO’s IT systems (internal network and communication systems, databases, and webservices).



Administrative Staff

Véronique GEORGES works on financial record-keeping and human resources. She supports the Director-General in preparing budgets.

Cintia MAUCHIEN supervises the administrative support team and provides support on administrative and financial aspects of specific projects, including MUCF.

Anfisa NIKOLAEVA: administrative officer.

Lisa PEREZ:  administrative officer.



Hosted networks


Baldissera GIOVANI is the coordinator of Euphresco (network of phytosanitary research coordination) which is hosted by EPPO. He also works on EPPO activities on diagnostics.

Jassmine ZORILLA is the project officer of Euphresco III.



Barbara EDLER is the coordinator of MUCF (Minor Uses Coordination Facility) which is hosted by EPPO.

Antoine MARTIN: Technical expert of MUCF.

Oualid SELLAMI: IT support of MUCF.